Charles Moffett

Date of Birth:  13th. April. 1996

Country: South Africa

Primary Sport: Whitewater Kayaking

Other Sports: Rafting

Favorite River: There are too many beautiful rivers out there

 About Me: I grew up on a farm, situated 10km from Lesotho, in the Eastern Free State. At 13 I had decided farming wasn’t my game, way too much stress for my liking. In December 2013, I was looking for work experience and ended up getting a holiday job at an outdoor adventure company in the small town of Clarens, also in the eastern Free State.  While working there I got to go rafting the one day. It wasn’t the best day for rafting, it was cold and raining and there was a stage that I couldn’t fell my hands or feet but I was immediately hooked and knew this was the thing for me. The next year just after I had turned 17, I’d completed my first guide’s course and started working full time as a Raft guide. I find working as a guide very fulfilling, getting to show people an aspect of life they otherwise wouldn’t know, being able create memories that will stay with these people for the rest of their lives and to share with them my passion for the river. I climbed into a kayak for the first time in 2015 and although I swam a LOT in my first couple months of kayaking, I knew that I had found my true love.

Dreams and Aspirations:  To keep pushing myself in whitewater kayaking. Paddle as many different rivers as possible and to share it with like-minded  people. To live my life to the fullest

Career Highlights: Rafting the Umkomaas River in flood. Sleeping on crocs around a campfire on the Orange River. Jumping 25m next to a waterfall on the Letaba River, Magoebaskloof. Running Thrombi Falls, Jan 2017. Becoming a RAW Hero.

Featured Video

 

Pin It on Pinterest

Share This

Share this post with your friends!